Let Spring Bloom at Phipps Conservatory

The weather is finally starting to break, the snow is melting and the temperature is rising.  What better way to get into the “Spring” mood than a trip to Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens, but first, you will want to fill up with the well-known pizza joint, Mineo’s.

Mineo’s

When you walk into Mineo’s, you are surrounded with tons of awards  along the walls that date back many years letting you know you are in one of the best pizza joints in Pittsburgh.

Mineo’s recently expanded its building, which added 40 additional seats, also broadened the menu and opened a full-service bar.

All of the ingredients at Mineo’s are made daily.  Mineo’s grates its own cheese, makes its own sauce and dough.

So if you’re out-of-state and reading this and are dying to try a Mineo’s pizza, you’re in luck. Mineo’s will FedEx you a pizza overnight and will be at your door the next morning.  Mineo’s prepares the pizza half-done, freeze it and then ships it out priority shipping. mineos2

When I go to Mineo’s my favorite menu option is the cheese pizza.  When I bite into the delicious, warm pizza the cheese just melts off into my mouth.  Mineo’s is unique in its own way because most of the toppings on the pizza are baked under the cheese.

No matter what time of day it is, Mineo’s is sure to be to be busy.  If you are craving Mineo’s pizza you will have to drive to one of their locations in either Squirrel Hill or Mt. Lebanon because of their non-delivery service.  Make sure you have enough cash to cover the bill because Mineo’s is a cash only restaurant!

Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens

With spring right around the corner, the perfect way to spend the afternoon is at Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens with friends and family.

Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens is a 13-room glasshouse and gardens that feature tropical plants, palms, orchids, ferns,

phipps

It’s the perfect way to spend an afternoon at an affordable price.  To tour Phipps it is $15 for adults, $14 for seniors (62 and older), $14 student with a valid ID, $11 for children 2 to 18 and free for members and children under 2.  Perfect for the whole family or even just a night out with friends or a significant other.

My favorite attraction at Phipps is its Christmas display.  Phipps at Christmas time is definitely the place to be.  Phipps offers a unique festive light experience in an outdoor garden exhibit.  Take a walk through the one-acre holiday wonderland and enjoy all of the beautiful lights.  Trees are wrapped in colorful lights and there are glowing sculptures scattered throughout the garden.  Take a walk under the “tunnel of light,” which is an archway wrapped with lights and has glowing orbs hanging above.

Besides the outdoor light display, Phipps also has impressive indoor winter garden attractions.

phipps xmasIf you can’t get to Phipps during the holiday season, don’t worry.  Phipps is open year-round with exciting attractions.

Thinking about smelling the flowers at Phipps Conservatory or biting into a delicious slice of Mineo’s pizza?  Let me know what you think, I’d love to hear!

4 thoughts on “Let Spring Bloom at Phipps Conservatory

  1. I had Mineo’s for the first time a couple weeks ago, and I must say one of the best places to get pizza in Pittsburgh. I would highly recommend anyone to try it! Try the pepperoni, you’ll be amazed how good it is with the toppings under the cheese!

    • That sounds delicious! I’ll definitely have to try that the next time I go! I’m glad you enjoy Mineo’s just as much as I do! 🙂

      • Heather, Mineo’s and Phipps sounds like the perfect date night! I’ve never been to Pittsburgh, but after looking at all of the places featured on your blog, I will have to make my way there! It seems like you really love your city, and I can’t wait to check out all of the places you write about. The food alone has me really excited!

      • Glad you enjoyed my post Megan! Definitely try out all of the places I have already listed on my blog and make sure to keep an eye out for upcoming posts that will surely capture Pittsburgh dining and attractions! Thanks for checking out my blog. Let me know if you ever make a trip to Pittsburgh and need a tour guide or ideas, I’d be happy to help!

Leave a Reply

